• 開學書展
  • 今日66折
  • 天天BUY
13th
The Last Romantics

The Last Romantics

  • 作者: Conklin, Tara
  • 原文出版社:William Morrow & Co
  • 出版日期:2019/02/05
  • 語言:英文
  • 定價:945
  • 優惠價:299
  • 優惠期限:2019年11月13日止
  • 運送方式:
  • 臺灣與離島
  • 海外
  • 可配送點:台灣、蘭嶼、綠島、澎湖、金門、馬祖
  • 可取貨點:台灣、蘭嶼、綠島、澎湖、金門、馬祖
載入中...
 

內容簡介

  塔拉(Tara conklin)是位天才作家,華麗的文筆,為小說的創作添增一筆風趣與多元。紐約時報的暢銷作家,這次為讀者帶來手足的故事。看兄弟姊妹們如何影響彼此,逐步養成獨立的他人與自我。

  是什麼構成偉大的詩人,是我們熟悉的故事嗎?我們創造家庭,乘載著血緣與友情,愛恨交雜。我們從中得到甚麼?看見甚麼?目睹渴望與懊悔,疾病與身體殘缺。功成名就與財富來來去去。偉大的詩篇,都從我們開始相信它開始。

  當詩人費歐娜被問及,作品背後的故事源頭,她對觀眾,說起家族的故事,背叛迴盪在生命的長河中。

  在未來的2079年,高齡102歲的費歐娜(Fiona),細細追想那個夏天,那個影響他們一生的夏天。一幢黃色大屋,舉辦著喪禮。父親驟然離世。人人都鐵青面孔,滿臉無神。母親日後都在她的房間中度過,守著中產小鎮克內提克(Connecticut town)。他們稱這段時期為靜日(Pause),作為一個分隔,它是自由與狂野的夏天。在可預測的日常裡,他們對未來感到憧憬,有著無限可能與想像。辛納(Sinner)一家,有狂暴的大姊蕊娜(Renee),感性而活潑的卡洛琳(Caroline),還有一名健壯的男孩喬伊(Joe)與富於觀察的費歐娜(Fiona)。

  二十年後,手足皆有自己生命際遇,家族的危機,試驗著彼此的親密程度,迫使他們面對選擇,更正確地,他們終將選擇親情。

  喬伊長成書中的焦點。而善於觀察的費歐娜,則一邊為NGO組織效力,一方面經營部落格,幽默地稱為最後的浪漫(the last romantic),寫盡她的風流韻事,每個和她上床的男人都被如實記錄下來,一個接著一個。這是小說的關鍵,窺視他人心中的密道。作者巧妙地避免讀者的偏見,放入許多秘密,解不完的驚喜,串聯一切。(文/博客來編譯)

  “Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming.” -- Meg Wolitzer

  The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings.


  “The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we’ve read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them.”

  When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

  It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected.  Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

  A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose—and sometimes rescue—the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories—how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

Review

  “Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming.” (Meg Wolitzer)

  “Perfectly paced, affecting fiction.” (Booklist)

  “An intimate, soul-searing examination of a modern family and the ties that bind, for better or worse.” (Stefanie Hargreaves, Shelf Awareness Galley Love of the Week)

  “Intensely moving.” (Shanina Piyarali, Shelf Awareness)

  “A triumph of storytelling, an ambitious examination of the failures of love and how we, against all odds, find a way to survive.... A complex, resonant work that will reshape your understanding of family.”
(Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang)

  “All of the luxuriously spun characters in The Last Romantics, entwined via that impossible web we call family, unfold over their many years with the perfect balance of familiarity and wonder that makes turning their pages such a pleasure.” (Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is)

  “There’s so much love and loss in this book that I read it with a box of tissues, laughing with astonishment through the tears. The kind of book you lose yourself in.” (Lisa Gabriele, author of The Winters)
 

作者介紹

Author(作者簡介)

Tara Conklin


  Tara Conklin is the author of the New York Times bestseller The House Girl. Trained as a lawyer, she worked for an international human rights organization and as a litigator at a corporate law firm in London and New York. Her short fiction has appeared in the Bristol Prize Anthology, Pangea: An Anthology of Stories from Around the Globe, and This Is the Place: Women Writing About Home. She holds a BA in history from Yale University, a JD from New York University School of Law, and a Master of Arts in Law and Diplomacy from the Fletcher School (Tufts University). She lives in Seattle, Washington, with her family.
 

詳細資料

  • ISBN:9780062358202
  • 規格:精裝 / 15.9 x 23.5 x 3.2 cm / 普通級

最近瀏覽商品

 

相關活動

  • 【博客來偵探社】嶄新登場!狂賀開幕49折起,國際頂尖探員在此為您服務!
 

購物說明

外文館商品版本:商品之書封,為出版社提供之樣本。實際出貨商品,以出版社所提供之現有版本為主。關於外文書裝訂、版本上的差異,請參考【外文書的小知識】。定價匯率為:美金乘以35,英磅乘以55。部份書籍,因出版社供應狀況特殊,匯率依實際狀況做調整。

調貨時間:無庫存之商品,在您完成訂單程序之後,將以空運的方式為您下單調貨。原則上約10~14個工作天可以取書(若有將延遲另行告知)。為了縮短等待的時間,建議您將外文書與其它商品分開下單,以獲得最快的取貨速度,但若是海外專案進口的外文商品,調貨時間約1~2個月。 

若您具有法人身份為常態性且大量購書者,或有特殊作業需求,建議您可洽詢「企業採購」。 

退換貨說明 

會員所購買的商品均享有到貨十天的猶豫期(含例假日)。退回之商品必須於猶豫期內寄回。 

辦理退換貨時,商品必須是全新狀態與完整包裝(請注意保持商品本體、配件、贈品、保證書、原廠包裝及所有附隨文件或資料的完整性,切勿缺漏任何配件或損毀原廠外盒)。退回商品無法回復原狀者,恐將影響退貨權益或需負擔部分費用。 

訂購本商品前請務必詳閱商品退換貨原則 

  • 文學獎
  • 構造
  • school

訂閱電子報

想獲得最新商品資訊,請訂閱免費電子報