• 今日66折
  • 天天BUY
child
Merchants of Truth: Inside the News Revolution

Merchants of Truth: Inside the News Revolution

  • 作者: Jill Abramson
  • 原文出版社:Bodley Head
  • 出版日期:2019/02/07
  • 語言:英文
  • 定價:769
  • 優惠價:549
  • 優惠期限:2019年10月02日止
  • 【分級買就送】樂購日:分級VIP會員OPENPOINT點數最高5倍送,也可改選1%購物金(部份除外) 詳情
  • 運送方式:
  • 臺灣與離島
  • 海外
  • 可配送點:台灣、蘭嶼、綠島、澎湖、金門、馬祖
  • 可取貨點:台灣、蘭嶼、綠島、澎湖、金門、馬祖
載入中...

優惠組合

 

內容簡介

  解析指標四大品牌,針對當代媒體版圖,關鍵而深入的幕後報導
  在新聞、訊息的價值面臨前所未有的挑戰之際, 省思當代人與資訊的關係


  曾任職於紐約時報總編輯的Jill Abramson,在新聞媒體產業擁有深厚的資歷與重要的地位。在本書,Abramson以四家當前極重要的媒體生產平台,傳統媒體巨頭紐約時報、華盛頓郵報及數位媒體新星BuzzFeed、VICE,帶來針對當代新聞產業的競爭及演變史。寫出傳統媒體巨頭與數位媒體新星在這個科技、經濟、價值觀皆面臨巨變的時代,終將走向何方。

  過往我們信任新聞媒體所傳遞的訊息,認為背後來自於新聞工作者們盡忠職守的挖掘,為人們整理與找尋真相。但,隨著網路世代的興起,對訊息的渴望使新聞生產的速度必須快速無比,因應網路廣告行銷,訊息散佈的方式也與曾經的電視、報紙、雜誌等傳統媒介,產生了極大的轉變。種種變遷威脅著新聞媒體產業運行的方式,將之推向假訊息及追逐強烈回饋的激進觀點,正漸漸遠離被奉為圭臬的客觀與公正。

  Abramson以業界的資歷與紮實的資料收集,深入這四大媒體巨頭的興起歷史與管理,帶讀者直入董事會與新聞室的現場,其中有信仰傳統媒體存在價值的擁護者(如華盛頓郵報股東之一Jeff Bezos、總編輯Marty Baron及紐約時報的發行商Arthur Sulzberger、總編輯Dean Baquet),也有狂妄自負的、以謊言及扇動為目的的媒體操弄者,生動的人物與事件報導,他們的角力共同形塑了我們當前的新聞產業面貌,更邀請所有人深思自己如何在當前的訊息洪流中,重新界定我們與新聞應是什麼關係。(文/博客來編譯)

  Merchants of Truth by Jill Abramson, former editor of The New York Times, is the gripping and definitive in-the-room account of the revolution that has swept the news industry over the last decade and reshaped our world.

  Drawing on revelatory access, Abramson takes us behind the scenes at four media titans during the most volatile years in news history. Two are maverick upstarts: BuzzFeed, the brain-child of virtuoso clickbait scientist Jonah Perretti, and VICE, led by the booze-fuelled anarcho-hipster Shane Smith. Their viral technology and disregard for the long-established standards of news journalism allow them to build game-changing billion-dollar businesses out of the millennial taste for puppies and nudity.

  The two others are among the world’s most venerable news institutions: The New York Times, owned and run for generations by the Sulzberger dynasty, and The Washington Post, also family-owned but soon to be bought by the world’s richest merchant of all, Jeff Bezos. Here Abramson reveals first-hand the seismic clashes that take place in the boardrooms and newsrooms as they are forced to choose between their cherished principles – objectivity and impartiality – and survival in a world where online advertising via Facebook and Google seems the only life-raft.

  We are with the deal-making tycoons, thrusting reporters and hard-bitten editors, the egomaniacs, bullshitters, provocateurs and bullies, as some surf and others drown in the breaking wave of change. And we watch as the survivors confront the horrifying cost of their success: sexual scandal, fake news, the election of President Trump, the shaking of democracy.

  Exposing the people and decisions that brought us to now, Merchants of Truth is a major book that breaks the ultimate news story of our times.

Review

  “In the tradition of David Halberstam’s The Powers That Be, Jill Abramson has woven amazing reporting with sharp insights and personal experiences to capture a momentous transformation in journalism. Filled with colorful inside stories, this book is essential for anyone who wants to understand today’s media and how it is affecting our society.”—Walter Isaacson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Steve Jobs and Leonardo da Vinci

  “Jill Abramson tells the truth about the news business as only she can tell it. Merchants of Truth is a deeply researched, wonderfully written, and filled with fascinating portraits. It is an important book at a crucial time.”—Gay Talese, author of The Kingdom and the Power

  “Jill Abramson provides this deeply reported insider account of an industry fighting for survival. With a keen eye for detail and a willingness to interrogate her own profession, Abramson takes readers into the newsrooms and boardrooms of the legacy newspapers and the digital upstarts that seek to challenge their dominance.”—Gabriel Sherman, Vanity Fair

  “Jill Abramson’s superb Merchants of Truth is a deep-dive chronicle of how four different news organizations are handling the rough-water transition to the online universe. The book is an outstanding work of investigative reporting and storytelling. A great work of journalism about journalism that recalls David Halberstam’s classic The Powers That Be, Merchants of Truth is powerfully told with fresh detail and insights.”—Lesley Stahl, award-winning 60 Minutes correspondent

  “A highly readable combination of significant topic, deep reporting, endlessly fascinating anecdotes, and vivid writing.”—Kirkus, Starred Review

  “The internet killed off and resurrected journalism in unpredictable, hopeful, but corrupted ways, according to this scintillating insider’s history…Abramson’s shrewd, stylishly written account includes colorful characters…and savvy portraits of newsroom dynamics. The result is one of the best takes yet on journalism’s changing fortunes.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

  “As a former executive editor of the New York Times, Abramson was uniquely situated to observe the changes that are affecting the ways in which media companies develop and distribute news and information… Abramson offers an engrossing ‘behind the curtains’ journey into the demanding business of modern media. High-demand backstory: Abramson’s expert and frank assessment of the struggles of the press in the ‘fake news’ era will attract avid attention.”—Booklist, Starred Review
 

作者介紹

Author(作者簡介)

Jill Abramson

  Jill Abramson is a senior lecturer at Harvard University. She also writes a bi-weekly column for The Guardian about US politics. She spent seventeen years in the most senior editorial positions at The New York Times, where she was the first woman to serve as Washington bureau chief, managing editor, and executive editor. Before joining the Times, she spent nine years at The Wall Street Journal. The author of Merchants of Truth, she lives in New York City.
 

詳細資料

  • ISBN:9781847923790
  • 規格:平裝 / 576頁 / 15.8 x 25.3 cm / 普通級 / 單色印刷 / 初版
  • 出版地:英國

最近瀏覽商品

 

相關活動

  • 改革資本主義People, Power, and Profits│《不公平的代價》諾貝爾經濟獎得主──史迪格里茲重磅新作!特價479元!
 

購物說明

外文館商品版本:商品之書封,為出版社提供之樣本。實際出貨商品,以出版社所提供之現有版本為主。關於外文書裝訂、版本上的差異,請參考【外文書的小知識】。定價匯率為:美金乘以35,英磅乘以55。部份書籍,因出版社供應狀況特殊,匯率依實際狀況做調整。

調貨時間:無庫存之商品,在您完成訂單程序之後,將以空運的方式為您下單調貨。原則上約10~14個工作天可以取書(若有將延遲另行告知)。為了縮短等待的時間,建議您將外文書與其它商品分開下單,以獲得最快的取貨速度,但若是海外專案進口的外文商品,調貨時間約1~2個月。 

若您具有法人身份為常態性且大量購書者,或有特殊作業需求,建議您可洽詢「企業採購」。 

退換貨說明 

會員所購買的商品均享有到貨十天的猶豫期(含例假日)。退回之商品必須於猶豫期內寄回。 

辦理退換貨時,商品必須是全新狀態與完整包裝(請注意保持商品本體、配件、贈品、保證書、原廠包裝及所有附隨文件或資料的完整性,切勿缺漏任何配件或損毀原廠外盒)。退回商品無法回復原狀者,恐將影響退貨權益或需負擔部分費用。 

訂購本商品前請務必詳閱商品退換貨原則 

  • film
  • upheaval
  • the best me

訂閱電子報

想獲得最新商品資訊,請訂閱免費電子報