HOT YLE英檢
Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas

  • 作者: Mitchell, David
  • 原文出版社:Random House Trade
  • 出版日期:2004/08/17
  • 語言:英文
  • 定價:722
  • 運送方式:
  • 臺灣與離島
  • 海外
  • 可配送點:台灣、蘭嶼、綠島、澎湖、金門、馬祖
  • 可取貨點:台灣、蘭嶼、綠島、澎湖、金門、馬祖
載入中...
  • 分享
 

OKAPI 推薦

  • 迷幻搖滾的黃金年代:《雲圖》作者大衛.米契爾推出新作《烏托邦大道》

    文/楊詠翔2020年11月24日

    英國小說家大衛.米契爾。 以《雲圖》享譽全球,多次入圍曼布克獎、星雲獎等獎項的英國作家大衛.米契爾,今年七月推出睽違五年的長篇新作《烏托邦大道》。寫作風格難以定義,總是雜揉多種文類,穿梭虛實之間的米契爾,這次將故事背景設定在狂放不羈的1960年代,從筆下虛構同名樂團「烏托邦大道」的 more
 

內容簡介

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

 

作者簡介

David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the internationally bestselling memoir The Reason I Jump. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

 

詳細資料

  • ISBN:9780375507250
  • 規格:平裝 / 528頁 / 21.3 x 13.7 x 3 cm / 普通級
  • 出版地:美國

最近瀏覽商品

 

相關活動

  • 【文學小說-華文創作】一部觀察微小但無所不在的「不對勁日常」圖鑑,直擊各種性別暴力下的案發現場
 

購物說明

外文館商品版本:商品之書封,為出版社提供之樣本。實際出貨商品,以出版社所提供之現有版本為主。關於外文書裝訂、版本上的差異,請參考【外文書的小知識】。

調貨時間:無庫存之商品,在您完成訂單程序之後,將以空運的方式為您下單調貨。原則上約14~20個工作天可以取書(若有將延遲另行告知)。為了縮短等待的時間,建議您將外文書與其它商品分開下單,以獲得最快的取貨速度,但若是海外專案進口的外文商品,調貨時間約1~2個月。 

若您具有法人身份為常態性且大量購書者,或有特殊作業需求,建議您可洽詢「企業採購」。 

退換貨說明 

會員所購買的商品均享有到貨十天的猶豫期(含例假日)。退回之商品必須於猶豫期內寄回。 

辦理退換貨時,商品必須是全新狀態與完整包裝(請注意保持商品本體、配件、贈品、保證書、原廠包裝及所有附隨文件或資料的完整性,切勿缺漏任何配件或損毀原廠外盒)。退回商品無法回復原狀者,恐將影響退貨權益或需負擔部分費用。 

訂購本商品前請務必詳閱商品退換貨原則 

  • 繪本展
  • 心理
  • MP